solar panel elevated stern mounting methods?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 26, 2012
Catalina 250 Bodega Bay CA
I need to know what methods are used to install the ss tubing rack to the seats on a cat 250 to mount my 2 ea. 80 watt panels. I tried to find it in past posts but could not. Thanks, Chief

Mar 22, 2004
Hunter 30 Vero Beach
Great article. I've been doing some research on solar panels on boats, and that just about answered everything I was wondering about. Someone else was asking questions on another one of the Hunter forums. I'll have to share it there.

Nov 26, 2012
It really is an excellent article but since I am a Electronic Engineer I know most of that stuff, but thanks as it is an excellent reference for future use. What I need to know is the mechanics of how to clamp the vertical stainless steel tubing to the rear seats on a cat 250 for a 7' overhead mount across the stern to hold 2 ea 80 watt panels. I have not been able to find the right brackets for attaching the frame. Thanks,Chief

Jan 22, 2008
Catalina 310 278 Lyndeborough NH
I mounted a 100 watt solar panel to the aft pulpit of my Capri 22. No drilling except for a through hole for the wiring into the boat.

Occasionally, someone suggests making it pivot for more sail area for the downwind leg. It is used to charge the batteries for the Torqeedo motor. It is on a mooring so it never gets a shore charge!

Attachments

Dec 19, 2006
Hunter 36 Punta Gorda
stainless fram

What you are looking for is SS hardware for a Bimini frame and try looking in Marine Part Depot,I got all my SS hardware for making my solar frame and just need to get some SS tubing.
Nick

Nov 26, 2012
Thanks guys, I finally found all the hardware I need to use. The project was furthur complicated by the fact that it must readily come down for transport on boat trailer.
Chief

Feb 6, 1998
Canadian Sailcraft 36T Casco Bay, ME