Do I need an automatic bilge pump

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 3, 2013
Catalina 27 Calusa Marina Goodland Fl
I am new to living on a sailboat and new to sailing. I have been told my many people who live in the Marinna that I need an automatic bilge. I have a mannual one that I have only had to use 1 time during this rainey season in Florida and that was because I overflowed my freshwater holding tank into the bilge. It does not have a place for the bilge to pump out so it would need to be put above the waterline I know that. There are other boaters familiar with this model who tell me I do not want one and do not need one. I want to have the boat ship shape and ready to sail by December but I really would like input from others if this boat needs to have an automatic bilge intstalled I appreciate any knowledge since I am learning
Carol ;)

May 18, 2010
Oday 27 Gulfport, MS
Hi Carol and welcome to SBO.

Automatic bilge pumps are a good thing to have because they are ready to work when you don't know and aren't there to catch the leaking seacock or cracked hose that could sink your boat before someone notices and reacts. Or while at sea!

For example my bilge pump does not see much regular action, however when checking the sump today I see that there is sea water in it! :eek: I check the sump regularly so I know it is a new problem and am definitely glad that it is there. If it hasn't been kicking on, I know that it is there if this pesky problem develops quicker than I can track it down.

Relatively cheap and easy to install too. Some owners insist on having a second/backup automatic bilge pump to protect against the first failing and leaving you without protection.

Good luck with the new boat and adventures with it.

Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish
Is "Freshwater holding tank" an oxymoron?