Yanmar 3GMF sluggish starting

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jared

The engine on our 1987 Hunter 34 - 24hp Yanmar 3GMF - has a difficult time starting if it hasn't been used in a couple of days. Once she runs for a while and then we sail for a while and then go to fire it back up, it will start right up really smoothly. Basically, for the first start, I have to hold in the start button for 10 seconds or so with 1/2-2/3 throttle and it starts kind of choking a little bit for about 5 seconds plus and then revs up smoothly and I then throttle it back down to idle. A bit of smoke comes out of the exhaust during this time as well - mostly white smoke, but the first time I did this I was chicken to hold the start button that long and after about 4 tries, some black smoke came out of the exhaust. I have pretty much only started the engine when the air temps. have been around 60-70 degrees F. Being that I am new to inboards (had a 25 footer with an outboard until a month ago), I am not sure if this is normal or not. Is it? If not, where should I look first? During the survey, the fuel filter looked clean and I have a full tank of deisel. Also, anyone know of a book like "Deisel for Dummies" or something so that I can learn what I need to know? Thanks.

S

Steve O.

Yannies are cold blooded

Yanmars don't have glow plugs so they are always hard to start in cool weather. You've got the drill down and you are right about not running the starter for long bursts. Don't use any starter fluids. Some say holding a hair dryer to the air intake for a few minutes helps.

W

Warren M.

Sluggish Starting