Widgeon repair - toppled mast

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tekphnx

Hi everyone, I'm a new Oday owner and new to the forums. Also a novice sailor - this is the first boat I've actually owned. I was given a Widgeon that needed a lot of work for free about a month ago, and spent a lot of time cleaning her up and getting her ready for the water. Last weekend, I went out on a local pond and found her to be a wonderful little boat, until a clevis pin popped out, followed a few seconds later by an accidental gybe. I've posted a bunch of pictures of the damage that resulted from the mast toppling:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/28852603@N06/

I'm wondering what the best way to go about repairing this would be. I've never worked with fiberglass before, though I know a couple of local people who have been offering advice on the subject. I think I'd like to try the repair myself, but I could use all the advice I can get before I try anything! So hello, and thank you all for your time.

R

ruidh

That's a lot of damage

That's a lot of damage, but was all that caused by a pin popping out? It looks like the mast step pulled completely out of the stringer it was mounted on. How is the wood down there? Is it soft and wet?

If you have rotted wood, you need to deal with that first. You'll need to drill some holes around the stringer and get the water out. The real repair would be to remove and replace it is that's possible. If it's not pervasive or the member is structurally tied into other pieces, you might try something like the Dot Doctor series of products.

For the fiberglass, I'd recommend a book like Don Casey's Fiberglass Sailboat Deck and Hull Repair and read it from cover to cover before even planning your repair. The West System also has a short booklet on fiberglass repairs. Between the two of them you can get an idea of the kind of work needed for this repair. Start with the less visible one. Your first few pours are likely to be sloppy ones.

T

tekphnx