What about a Beneteau 25 for a starter?

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Alper

Anybody eperienced a Beneteau 25 ? I am a beginner planning to get a Bn25. And let me know if there are any other choices around same size and financing_?

B

Brian Pickton of BeneteauOwners.net

First boat

Jan.8,2000 Dear Alper, The Beneteau 25 is a dynamite sailor, as you would expect from a Bruse Farr design, but it wouldn't be the boat I would ordinarily recommend as a starter boat for most beginners. What you are buying is basically a full bore racing boat. It offers a lot of challenges to tune it to its full potential. It makes no concessions to liveaboard comfort. On the other hand if you think racing is what you want to do you could certainly do much worse than choose the B25, especially if there is a fleet of B25' s already racing in your area, because it is a thrill to sail. In any case, as a starting sailor I would recommend that you buy whatever is being raced in the largest one design fleet in your area. That way if you decide to sell the boat there is a ready market for it. One design racing is the best racing going as far as I'm concerned. You will still have a steep learning curve to climb, but you learn fastest if you go racing. If your looking for a large fleet of more or less comparable boats, the one you might look at is the J 22 or J24. Sorry I don't know anything about financing in your area. Fair Winds, Brian Pickton of BeneteauOwners.net Aboard the Legend, Rodney Bay, St. Lucia

L

Larry Watkins

Bene 25 for starters.

Alper; I agree with Brian, the Ben. 25 is a race boat, built for speed, not for comfort or ease of handling. For learning, and for comfort, I would go with a Catalina 25 instead. Conservative sail plan, forgiving, comfortable interior, (standing headroom at anchor with the pop-top and enclosure), workable galley and head, easily trailerable and great re-sale value when you decide to move up, and you will, believe me. Good luck!

Jul 1, 1998