Weather Helm Rudder Mod

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 7, 2004
- - Melvern Lake - Kansas
I am new to a C-22, but believe I am experiencing excessive weather helm in moderate to heavy air. My mast is raked fairly forward, so I don’t think that is it. The rudder seems to be a poor design. (It is the non-kickup type.) I am considering drawing the lower part of my rudder forward by re-drilling the hole(s) in the top rudder mount brace, forcing the top of the rudder aft and the bottom forward. I have heard this has helped. (In fact an article in the Main Brace talks about a non-class legal rudder you can buy that has a much more pronounced leading edge.) Has anyone performed this or a similar type of mod? What were your results?

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
Yes, they have

1. try the catalina 22 association wbesite 2. learn to reef early Stu

D

David Williams

New Plastic Rudder

I would redrill the rudder. Class rules listed on the Association website define how far forward you can move the rudder. If you are not racing, drill it for a good feel. I bought one of the plastic rudders. I love it! It always has a good feel. David

C

Campy

Mast

Rake your mast the other way! Most masts should be tuned aft. Check the website previously mentioned

Aldo

Jan 27, 2005
Catalina 22 Middle River, MD
Be Careful with the Plastic Rudder