Universal 25 - Installation -Burning rear bulkhead

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

expossum

Am in process of buying a Cat 310, 2001. On inspection, the uncooled part of the exhaust (I'm not an engineer) seems to touch the rear bulkhead and scorch it. Not sure whether current lagging solves proble. Would this be a factory induced problem? Seems unreal a company of size and expereince of Catalina would design something like this. Whilst boat 8 years old, seems overall like new. Has anyone experienced similar problems nad how have you fixed it?

Would really like some advice!

Sep 29, 2008
Catalina 310 #185 Quantico
Not a problem on my 2002

Sounds like you are missing some insulation or the water injected into the exhaust through the exhaust elbow is blocked.

Jul 1, 2009
Catalina 310 Sydney-Pittwater
Thanks, rpwillia. Had it checked by local well known surveyor who only recommended adding a s/s backing plate to bulkhead to dissipate heat. Engine has only had 281 hours. just seems an unusual installation.

Jun 25, 2004
Catalina 310 Hilton Head
Talk about timing!!!

Am in process of buying a Cat 310, 2001. On inspection, the uncooled part of the exhaust (I'm not an engineer) seems to touch the rear bulkhead and scorch it. Not sure whether current lagging solves proble. Would this be a factory induced problem? Seems unreal a company of size and expereince of Catalina would design something like this. Whilst boat 8 years old, seems overall like new. Has anyone experienced similar problems nad how have you fixed it?

Would really like some advice!