Tuning behind the mast furler

Sep 29, 2016
Lord Nelson Lord Nelson 35 3 Full time cruiser
Helping a friend replace the standing rigging on his boat. I have replaced rigging and tuned my own rig successfully, however he has a Harken unit 1 rigged as a behind the mast furling system. I have no experience with behind the mast furling and
am wondering how this changes the tuning procedure. I have not been able to find any information at all concerning anything other than installation.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
What kind of boat and what type of rigging?

Most of what I would consider would be the column of the mast, seems it should be straight, just like a forestay.

Sep 29, 2016
The boat is a 43 foot Gulfstar. Masthead sloop with a single set of spreaders and a set of forward and aft lowers.

Feb 20, 2011
Island Packet 35 Tucson, AZ/San Carlos, MX
Mast tuning is related to mainsail trim. How does "behind the mast" furling relate?
Forgive me if I'm being obtuse.

Sep 29, 2016
Because the behind the mast furler adds another adjustable "stay" between the forestay and backstay. Placing tension on it changes the shape of the mast and would then seem to also play a role in the tension of the forestay, backstay and also mast rake.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
Where and how is the furler attached?

Almost regardless of the answer to that, most masthead sloops have masts like telephone poles.So, "standard" tuning with the double lowers is straight up and down. Any rake should keep the mast straight anyway, wouldn't it?

Sep 29, 2016
Standard tuning on this type of rig should be about an inch of prebend forward and a rake of about 1 degree to be later adjusted to weather helm when tuned under sail.

Nov 8, 2007
Hunter 27_75-84 Sandusky Harbor Marina, Ohio
A friend has this rig on a Hunter 30. I would set the rake at 3-4%, same as any other rig, then adjust as necessary for weather helm.