Trailering a 1970 Cal 25 fixed keel

Jun 2, 2021
O'Day O'Day 28 Clarks Hill
I will be moving my late uncles Cal 25 approximately 275 miles and wanted to know how feasible it is
for me to tow it. I have plenty of experience towing trailers, my travel trailer is longer and heavier than
this boat. I know there are other considerations with a fixed keel boat, has anyone done this? What is
overall height of the boat on a trailer? I know that would very some by trailer type but would it be too
tall for overpasses on the interstate? Is it necessary to get any permits to move a boat this size?

Thanks,
Chuck Kelleher
Current Owner of a 1985 O'Day 28

Jan 4, 2012
Oday 23 Syracuse, Indiana
I co-own a Catalina 25 with a fixed keel. The draft of the boat is 4 feet. The boat weighs about 4,500 pounds. The trailer has pressure brakes (the forward momentum of the trailer compresses the brake piston when the towing vehicle slows down). The pressure brakes on the trailer make a big difference when stopping.

We've towed our boat several hundred miles with no problem. We use a Ford 150 pickup to pull the boat. The mast lays with one end on the bow pulpit and the other end on a mast crutch that is lashed to the stern pulpit. We support the mast in the middle with a crutch that sits on the mast step and compression post.

The boat and trailer are shorter in height, shorter in length, and narrower than a standard truck trailer, so we've never had to secure a permit to tow the boat. It fits under most bridges. The tallest point of the boat on its trailer is a little under 12 feet. The standard height of a truck trailer is around 13 and a half feet so most bridges have a clearance of at 14 or more feet. Off the interstate, you will want to pay close attention to the posted clearance height of bridges.