Trailer load

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Stewart

I am new to sailing and have decided on a Mac 26x.I intended to pull it with my Toyota Camry but on checking my manual it shows that I can only pull 2,000lbs (trailer & load. Is there any way around this?I would appreciate any input.

D

dan

Don't Go THERE!

Hi Stewart I tow with a 92 Ranger 4x4. Way to small! This boat and trailer weighs in at close to 3500lb with boat stuff and gas. Not to mention your passengers and car STUFF! Towing with a car is PURE sales nonsense. You will need (to be safe/tow and STOP) at minimum a 1/2ton truck or midsize SUV. My recommondation is a vehicle with MIN 1.5x the weight of the boat/trailer and a tow rating of 3000-5000lb MINIMUM. Towing with anything less is DANGEROUS and will RUIN your vehicle. I am currently shopping for a 3/4ton truck. happy motoring....dan

J

Jerry

Only way. . .

The only way around your haves/wants is to: A. Get a much smaller boat. Open Hull with a dagger board. -or- B. Get a bigger vehicle. I used to tow our 26 swing keel with a Mazda B4000, towing Pkg (6000#). Did Ok, but cramped in truck. Now we use a Suburban. Major difference in comfort and ride. Burb controlls boat, not the tail wagging the dog. -Jerry

C

Curtiss Grant

Towing