Trailer for a Fin Keel?

Apr 26, 2022
Precision 23 N Miami Beach
Hi,

Looking at purchasing a Catalina Capri 22 with a fin keel. It's already in the water, and does not come with a trailer.

Three questions:
Can I find a trailer for this used? I priced a new one, and they are over $5,000, with a 19 week wait.

It sounds like it's hard to get it on a trailer, if you have one. I am getting an equipment guy to take it out of the water and bring it to me on his trailer. But I am a newbie. Am I going to be able to manage this myself?

The only marina I found who would lift it out charges $420. Am I going to have to pay this every time I need the bottom painted? And how often do I need to do that?

Thanks in advance!

R.

Mar 2, 2019
Oday 25 Milwaukee
I'm afraid so . The swing keel version of the Catalina 22 was made specifically to overcome this concern. A used trailer is going to be at least $2k . If you are in Florida the saltwater has likely corroded the inside of most trailer frames . Local knowlegde of the undergrowth will dictate how often your boat needs to be hauled for a bottom job .Too many variables for most folks to say for sure .
If it were my money ,I'd look for a sailboat already on a trailer ."Most " ramps in Florida are very shallow . This means you may well need a crane to launch or a trailer extension .
If you decide to go with a shoal draft or a swing keel you have a whole lot more options .There is a lot of skinny water in your state .

Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
The Catalina 22 and Catalina Capri 22 are two different hulls. The swing keel Catalina 22 can be launched using the Catalina Sport 22 trailer at shallow ramps in Florida but not so with a Catalina Capri 22 with a fin keel. I would suggest looking at other boats.
I am a retired sailboat dealer who use to display both the Hunter and Catalina trailerable sailboats simultaneously at the Annapolis Boat Shows.

Sep 24, 2018
O'Day 25 Chicago