Tiller Extensions/hiking stick

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

Wayne

Thank you JC for your reply, on April 25, to my question re tiller tenders. In your reply you made reference to tiller extensions/hiking stick. I'm fairly new to sailing and I'm not sure what this is. Can it be 'added to' my existing tiller? Is this something that I would benefit from having? What are the advantages to a tiller extension? Plus any other thoughts that you or anyone else might have re tiller extensions/hiking stick. Thanks.

M

marc

hiking stick

i used an old golf club with a knuckle on the end and it seems to work fine.i also have a spring clamp that holds it in place under the tiller handle when not in use

D

Dave West

Tiller Extensions

Wayne, A hiking stick is an extension that connects to your existing tiller. In a smaller boat, or when you are single handed you may want to add your weight to the windward side to correct heel. If you have to lean waaaaaay out you can't leave your hand on the tiller ... so you have a pivoting extension or hiking stick so you can control your vessel. I don't use one on my Mac but if I had a Thistle, Lightning or Hobie Cat I sure would.

Jan 22, 2003
Hunter 25_73-83 Burlington NJ
Tiller extensions defended.