Things I changed

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Ray

Hi All, Since this is my first year with my boat I have been making a few changes. For one I did install a LCD Hi-Def TV and mounted in the opening to the fwd cabin. It is a $200 Polaroid I got from WalMart. I also installed a solar panel and a desulfinating battery charger from BatteryMINDER that appears to have resuscitated my #2 battery (it will now start the diesel and run the hotel loads that it could not do before). Finally, I have been experimenting with the main sheet jam cleat trying to make it more efficient. The attached photo should give you all an idea what I did. In all three cases I was loath to add any new holes to the boat. For the TV mount I took a board and drilled holes to match the TV bracket and the chain plate for the port shrouds plus longer screws. For the solar panel I used 1" aluminum bar and SS bolts and nuts to mount to the stern rail (stern in slip at marina always faces south), and for the main sheet I used longer screws and some marine board scrap. Ray

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
what's wrong with putting a new hole in the boat?

you know, you can never actually call it yours until you drill a few holes in it. Contrary to what some new onwers think, I've never heard of a boat depreciating because there are some non-factory holes drilled into it. Regarding the mainsheet.... if you really want to make it more efficient... run it back to the cockpit where you can reach it without leaving the wheel. For instance, you could re route it alongside the cabin to a secondary self tailing winch on the gunnel near your helm. Of course, this would mean drilling a few holes but it would allow you to tack and jibe without leaving the wheel, assuming the jibsheet winches are also close by.

R

Ray

Working the main sheet from the wheel