Tartan Fantail questions

Jun 24, 2024
Tartan 26 Flathead Lake
Hello fellow sailor,
I live in Montana and sail on a lake and most likely my sailing will be day and some weekending. I have heard of a Tartan Fantail for sale in my area. I do not know the cost or condition yet.
I was hoping to get feedback on trailering to other lakes/reservoirs and stepping the mast? How do they to pointing up? Just how tender are they? As a 'sit in, not on' boat it's tipping moment and righting ability(yes, this shows I'm a novice sailer but to who else do I ask?)
Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
You are sailing on a fun lake. I had the opportunity to visit about 10 years ago. We went sailing in some very light air.

The Tartan Fantail 26 would be a fun daysailer on the lake but not really an easy trailer boat with the "Deep Fin Keel".
1719246356755.png

Here is a write-up from 2013 that shares flattering info.

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
I think they are beautiful, and I've heard they sail very well, but as @jssailem mentions, not really a boat you'd launch from a trailer every time you sail. On a dock or a mooring would be the way to go. Since it has electric drive, the dock would be more convenient for charing the propulsion batteries.

They are expensive. There's only one on Yachtworld at this time, and as I recall it's about $90k, for a 2019 model. It's the daysailer version.

I would love to have one as my second (or third) boat.

It's like a poor man's Hinckley Daysailer. :)

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
He never stated which lake.