Storm Jib

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Michael

Hello Doyle Sail Folks! I have been advised to get a storm jib for sailing along the left coast between San Francisco and Monterey. I have been told that if the winds get to 25+ and you are between ports, you will need a storm jib to give you just enough sail to balance the boat. I'm not sure if I should be double-reefed at this point or not, that part was not clear. I have a 110% jib on my Hunter 2001 340 now, and I suggested just unfurling it a little bit, but was told it is not a good way to go because you could have an accidental total unfurling, and even if it is out just a little bit it is not designed to work that way in those conditions. I'm trying to picture changing the jib in 10 foot swell under those conditions... but ok I'm open to ideas since I'm fairly new at all this, it will probably be a lot of fun! Can you explain the benifits of a Storm Jib? Are they one size fits all? If not, what size would I need for my 340? How much are they? I have seen some that snap on around the furled jib, do you make those? If not why? Thanks for the info, Michael

J

Joe Ford

Gale sail...

Check out the gale sail, it zips over the furled headsail. I think it's distributed by ATN. Sorry Doyle... I'm sure you guys have something similar.

T

Tim Stodola at Doyle Sails