storm jib H26

Jimmy

Jan 28, 2018
Hunter 26 lake Powell lake mead
96F02978-794C-4AE4-B54D-6743EA844A25.jpeg
264A96E6-F0A4-4DB3-BFAD-589A34A2C785.jpeg
96F02978-794C-4AE4-B54D-6743EA844A25.jpeg
I have never had this sail up, probably a total novice question it’s the storm jib it had a length of cable to make it haul higher on forstay is this correct picture with and without?

May 25, 2012
john alden caravelle 42 sturgeon bay, wis
pendant on top attached to the head of the sail. keep your center of effort of the sail low for less heeling forces. my $0.02

May 25, 2012
if it were built to fly high there would be a hank next to the tack

Jimmy

Jan 28, 2018
Thanks that’s what I thought too but didn’t know why it was rigged that way

Ted

Jan 26, 2005
C&C 110 Bay Shore, Long Island, NY
There are two reasons why you might want to have the tack raised off the deck.
1. Generally speaking, keeping the tack above the deck will allow any large waves to pass under the foot of the sail rather than getting caught by the sail. In your case, the tack is pretty high and I doubt you'll be sailing in conditions with 8 foot high waves breaking on your deck.
2. Raising the tack might get you a proper sheet lead to your existing genoa lead car. With a low tack you might have to install a dedicated block or extend the genoa track for your storm sail if your genoa track does not go far enough forward.

+2 for both of Jon Hansen's comment regarding having a hank at the tack and lowering the center of effort of the headsail.

Last edited:

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
First of all, I'm not entirely convinced that is a real storm jib... most have a very heavy cloth, triple stitching .... It could just be a 80/90 percent working jib that the p.o. wanted to use as a "jib top" or "yankee" by going full hoist (except that would be unusual on a small trailerable production boat.