steering the 26x

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

robert

I am new to sailing and the 26x is my first boat. I find that the steering requires a great deal of force to make heading changes. It felt as though the motor was resting on the steering linkage,but was not. I even tried using only one rudder as I moved along at 5 kts,still I was exhausted as I muscled each steering input. Is this normal for the 26x or am I missing some basic helmsmanship? WIPED OUT TIRED ON THE CHESAPEAKE! HELP.

D

dan

Tough Steering!

Hi Robert... Sounds about right to me. Moving a 200lb+ motor in the tilt up position and (2)rudders is a lot of mechanics to move. I kind of got used to it. Just grease everything up real good and steer less drastically. Let the boat come around as you have the time and room. Leave both rudders in the water to improve response. Leave ballast in, rudders down and centerboard down 25% when motoring at slow speeds, specially when trying to get in to a slip. Will really help with not needing to over pilot. Make sure none of the controls wires are binding on your steering. happy muscle building........dan

M

Malcolm

No Problem

Robert, I have a new 26X (2002, #4945) with a 200# Honda and I have no problem with steering. What type of steering does your boat have? Is it drum or rack-and-pinion? From other posts, the steering cables may bind in their sheaths. Could this be your problem? Some people have replaced their cables. Others have greased them.

R

robert

pumping iron

Dan, I was pleased by your response concerning the difficult steering of the 26x while under sail. I will apply grease to the steering system and begin working out at the local gym. Robert

R

robert