Spades &. Quick Connect terminals

Jul 12, 2011
Leopard 40 Jupiter, Florida
Thanks @Maine Sail - good to see you writing again and sharing your knowledge.

I am not an electrician, not even playing one on TV, but I do have to maintain stuff on my boat. I really like quick-connectors like bullets and blades because I have to replace things occasionally. The article mentions that ABYC only allows them on circuits of under 20 amps, which is 95% of my living space stuff - LED lights, DC fans, etc. Am I taking terrible chances in connecting my fan to the fan circuit with a blade connection properly crimped? Soldering and shrink wrapping or butt-spicing seems like overkill, particularly as DC fans fail every other year.

Feb 6, 1998
Canadian Sailcraft 36T Casco Bay, ME

I am not an electrician, not even playing one on TV, but I do have to maintain stuff on my boat. I really like quick-connectors like bullets and blades because I have to replace things occasionally. The article mentions that ABYC only allows them on circuits of under 20 amps, which is 95% of my living space stuff - LED lights, DC fans, etc. Am I taking terrible chances in connecting my fan to the fan circuit with a blade connection properly crimped? Soldering and shrink wrapping or butt-spicing seems like overkill, particularly as DC fans fail every other year.
As long as you are using quality terminals such as Molex or AMP they can be ok. They are still not the most dependable terminals but occasionally they can't be avoided. and especially don't use them to connect disconnect more than 1-3 times...

Feb 6, 1998
Canadian Sailcraft 36T Casco Bay, ME

As long as you are using quality terminals such as Molex or AMP they can be ok. They are still not the most dependable terminals but occasionally they can't be avoided. Just don't use them to connect disconnect more than 1-3 times, they degrade with each cycle.....

May 30, 2006
Oday 34 Chesapeake Bay