Should I buy a 336?

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bob Peters

I am considering a 1995 336, loaded, in good-to-excellent condition at 78,000. Next step is a sea trial next weekend. After a lot of looking at mid-size, affordable used boats, this one is clearly at top of list. BUT, I read and hear a lot about the lightness or tenderness of Hunters as well as some penny pinching on some materials and equipment. I have been sailing club boats for a few years; from 26 up to a Cal 39. The coming sea trial will be first time on a Hunter. Although the Owner Reviews at this site are 90% positive about the Hunter 336, can anyone reply concerning my 2 concerns. Most of my sailing will be coastal, up and down New England Coast. thank you. Bob

P

Paul Bednarzyk

Bob, as a former owner of a 336, I think you will be happy with the boat. I did not feel that the boat was "tippy" at all. The components used are all name brand products, Lewmar, Harken, Bowmar, etc. Depending on how the boat is equipped, 78k seems a little steep. Overall I was very pleased with the boat. We traded it in on new 380 because we wanted the extra space and comfort. Paul Bednarzyk S/V Knot Again

E

edward almeyda- wclaw@bellsouth.net

yes buy a 336

i own a 336 which i a super boat. i have soloed from dry tortugas to miami with an autohelm 400 auto pilot and the only problem i had was staying awake. i installed a mack pack main sail control that is also super and a windlass, refrigerator, ac, and built a radar arch for two solar panels that keep the batteries topped off the boat sails very well in winds up to 20 knots without a reef the reliability of the systems has been good except for the tank indicators, which are not so important definitely get the boat

T

Tom Ressler s/v Blowdacious

My 336