Shaft or propellor noise, coolant leakage outside?

• Thread starter Sjoerd van der Maaden
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Sjoerd van der Maaden

Dear all, I've recently bougt an HR38, built in '82. During our first trip I noticed that under some circumstances there would be a whining noise under power, which would dissapear after engagement of reverse, with some relatively high revs applied (2500), followed by engagement of forward again. I have no earlier experience with HR's, and obviously I dont want to destroy anything. Since the boat is now on the dry, I can now do repairs or have them done. Another matter, whic might or might not be related... I notices some greenish fluid coming out of the propshaft while she was just on the dry, there are still some traces left on the anti-fouling. This could be either copper, or coolant?? The coolant level WAS pretty low... Any remakrs, hints, tips, warnings are VERY much appreciated!! Kind regards, SJoerd van der Maaden sjoerd <at> vandermaaden.nl

P

Paul Norman

Start here