Sailing Solo

Tarkus

May 22, 2020
Catalina 22 Middle River, MD
Hello everyone, I just purchased a 1974 Catalina 22 last fall. Its been 35 years since I last sailed on my O'day 23 so I'm basically a newbie again. I did mostly solo sailing back then and have a few questions. The Catalina is different than my O'day in that my new boat uses a pig tail from the backstay to the end of the boom and the O'day had a topping lift. My procedure in raising the sails back then (as well as I can remember) was to head into the wind, put engine in neutral, release the main sheet, raise the mainsail and let it luff, then raise the Jib, get back into the cockpit and off I went. Question now is, since I can't disconnect the pigtail until the mainsail is up is it then ok to yank up the jib and hope the main doesn't fill and turn the boat and/or put too much stress on the backstay until I get back into the cockpit and disconnect the boom from the backstay? How do you guys with the same setup do it? Thanks to anyone who reads this or answers my questions. The blue hulled boat was what she looked like when I bought her. Tarkus is now White after many hours of sanding and painting.

Attachments

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
Congratulations on y0ur new Catalina 22!! Nice paint job, your new boat cleans up really well!!

It seems to me you are going to want to release the main sheet, pull the main sail up, secure the main halyard, release the pigtail, head into the wind, yank up the jib, secure the jib halyard then set the jib and main sheets for sailing.

The threads below discuss pigtail use and options to eliminate it with a topping lift like you had on your O'Day and/or a boom kicker, which you can purchase or make your own from blocks, line and jam or clam cleat or clutch. You could also install a jib roller furler to make setting ad dousing the jib faster but that will likely require a new jib sail with a sun cover.

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego