Sailboat lifetime.

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Severin

Well, as you will understand I'm new to the sailing and trying to learn that is why my questions may sound silly. Thinking about getting a sailboat, but want to know some basics first. I got few books for the beginners, but could not find an answer on several different questions and decided to give it a try here. First I'm trying to get an idea if I should consider a used boat (and if so how old) or new. So here is the first one. What is lifetime expectancy on the sailboat in general and what factors effecting it? I guess you can maintain it forever, but at some point maintenance takes more time than usage and gets way too expensive. So what is an average time to that point, what is the main factor/s that make it happened? I'm taking about cruiser between 32 and 40 feet. Initially thinking about using it here on Great Lakes (Lake Michigan as a start), but in the future would love to do long passes like across Atlantic to Europe and so on, but that is at least about 10 years from now. So is it reasonable to consider let say 40-foot cruiser right away looking that far ahead, or it's better to go with lets say 32' and maybe switch it later? I realize such things like let say after long use and/or bad maintenance engine may need some serious repair or replacement, but what else? Is there some book that can give me answers on such questions? My e-mail address is <chayka@earthlink.net> and I'll be glad to receive direct e-mail or to find a reply here. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks a lot, Severin.

B

Bob Robeson

New or old