sail rigging troubles

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

glat fisk

I am new to sailboats. I recently purchased a 15' albacore and am having troubles figuring how the sails, blocks,& lines. are supposed to be attached. I think I pretty well have the main sheet figured out but could use some confirmation on that. but the one that is giving me the most trouble is the jibb. I think I figured out the leading edge of the sail but not where the lower rear eye of the sail attaches to. sorry I am not versed on the specific terms related to sailing yet.but that will change. if someone could give me some pointers or even drawings that would be great. I am going out with it on fri, sat, sun.(First time ever out on a sailboat) so I hope someone gets back to me soon. thanks.

G

glat fisk

I am new to sailboats. I recently purchased a 15' albacore and am having troubles figuring how the sails, blocks,& lines. are supposed to be attached. I think I pretty well have the main sheet figured out but could use some confirmation on that. but the one that is giving me the most trouble is the jibb. I think I figured out the leading edge of the sail but not where the lower rear eye of the sail attaches to. sorry I am not versed on the specific terms related to sailing yet.but that will change. if someone could give me some pointers or even drawings that would be great. I am going out with it on fri, sat, sun.(First time ever out on a sailboat) so I hope someone gets back to me soon. thanks.

P

Peter

sailing for the first time etc

Congrats on the new boat and the desire to sail her. That being said, I didn't know that Grampian even made a 15 footer but what do I know. I do, however, strongly suggest that you take someone who knows how to sail. It could mean the difference between having a positive, enjoyable, sailing experience or hating the whole thing and never doing it again.

P

Peter

sailing for the first time etc