s2 9.2A for the bay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

flo617

Mar 4, 2010
none yet none yet nowhere
Hi,

I'm looking to purchase my first boat. I have a few years sailing on small boats (cape cod mercury, laser, rhodes19) and I recently got instruction on larger sailboat and got certified bareboat. I'm looking for a nice, pleasant boat for the San Francisco bay. One of my options is a S2 9.2A vintage 1979.

I don't necessarily want a rocket, just a boat that sails well and reasonably fast.

I'm not too familiar with those boats. I'd like to know what are the main issues with them and what needs to be looked after. How well do they sail in heavy wind, how well do they point? The boat I've checked does not have a jib track and the blocks are tied to the toe rail. I'm no expert but wouldn't that be an issue when sailing close to the wind?

Is there any issue with the encapsulated keel such as separation between glass and lead?

I'm a little afraid of maintenance on such an old boat. The boat looks great and seems to have been well taken care of by previous owner including a new engine and fuel tanks. I know that whatever you buy it's a hole in the water but...

I would really appreciate your inputs.

Thanks

BobM

Jun 10, 2004
S2 9.2A Winthrop, MA
S2 is known for better than average gelcoat and fiberglass work. The 9.2A's rating is average at about 180. Mine sails well and loves the wind. She heels initally, but I have had her 20 degrees over with the rail in the water in 20+ knots and she is quite predictable. The aft traveler has pluses and minuses. In windy SF it will be a plus to have the main sheet handy, a familiar control in a smaller boat but one not quite as used in larger boats which tend to just change heading to spill wind. However, the main sheet is long and can be a pain to keep under control sometimes, as it turns into a task to keep it controlled and not lying all over the place when sheeted in.