S2 9.2A ( 1981) looking to buy one need your help and input

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 9, 2005
- - none yet- North Shore,Lake Huron
Ahoy!

I am seriously looking at buying a 1981 S2- 9.2A
We are a retired couple looking for a safe stable small cruiser that's affordable. I have many years of sailing experience but have been away from it for over 10 years.
We plan on living aboard 2-3 months per year. Is this boat suitable? There isn't much info on the net.What little I have heard is good. The boat I am looking at has a 12hp Yanmar which seems to be underpowered. But the price is right and it is well maintained,but not well equipped with cruising gear. We have plans of heading south to the Bahamas and maybe beyond. With the right gear is the 9.2-A going to fit my needs? The 9.11 is above my budget so hence the 9.2-A. Is she tender in a blow? What about weatherhelm?

Fair winds, Allan email: guestallan@hotmail.com

BobM

Jun 10, 2004
S2 9.2A Winthrop, MA
I just bought my 1981 9.2A last year. I made one 180 mile trip to bring her back to Boston from Long Island Sound.

Overall build quality is good...bolted and bonded hull to deck joint...bulkheads are tabbed in place...minimal gelcoat crazing...no blisters on my boat (I did see pervasive tiny gelcoat blisters on the topsides of another 9.2A though). The 12hp yanmar is definitely a underpowered and will be noisy. My 2QM15 (14hp - cruises at 5.5 knots) isn't much better and ideally you should repower if this is a long term thing for you.