S2 8.0C Engine Compartment Pictures

Status
Not open for further replies.

Styx

Sep 6, 2011
S2 8.0C Erie
I have a 1976 S2 8.0C. I am doing a complete refurb. When I purchased the boat, the engine compartment and chart table were already removed. The atomic 4 was rebuilt and installed, but none of surrounding compartment was installed. The plywood separating the head and battery compartment from the engine compartment is still there. I have removed all the carpet from the boat and have almost completed re-coring the deck from underneath. It is time to start planning the re-build for the engine compartment. I am looking for pictures of S2 8.0C engine compartments so I can see what they originally looked like. If you have pictures or drawings or suggestions for this area, will you please send them to me? I will also be re-wiring the entire boat as well.

I am a newbie to this forum, so if I need to add more to this thread, let me know.

Attachments

Sep 12, 2010
S2 8.0c Ninnescah Sailing Association
Here are a few photos but I'll take better photos of my 8.0c setup this weekend. In the past a previous owner added an air conditioner towards the rear of the engine compartment taking space away from the chart table.

A quick description of my setup: the chart table pulls out to gain access to the top of the engine... a Yanmar YSM8 in my case. It is L-shaped and fits around the electrical panel leaving about a 2x2.5 foot of usable table space. There is a hatch on the vertical portion of the engine compartment that can be removed to work on the side of the engine.This is the same area our table top is stored when we're not using it. You can kind of see the view from the top and the side that I tried to describe.

Do you have any more photos of your project boat? If find rehabs interesting, especially when it is an 8.0c! The re-coring from inside sounds interesting.

Attachments

Styx

Sep 6, 2011
S2 8.0C Erie
Thanks for input. Looking forward to the photos you will send.