Racing Sails

Mar 11, 2014
Any of you folks have any experience with the high tech racing sails. If so what material do you have recommendations for etc? Does it help point the boat better? Any experience with Precision Sail loft from Canada? Any other lofts you'd recommend...

shnool

Aug 10, 2012
WD Schock Wavelength 24 Wallenpaupack
I've heard nightmare stories about Precision sails. I've had NO experience with them at all personally.

I went with D4 loadpath sails when I did my Capri 25. The difference between them and my 30 yo dacron sails, was night and day (and I considered my one dacron sail to be in good shape and not stretched, and my dacron (heavy) 155 was pretty good.. and it made a drastic difference in point, 2 to 3 degrees at least... but what really caught me off guard the most was how well they depowered, and how well they translated power (forward) from puffs, as opposed to heel.

Options are all over the place, but if you plan to race, I'd say Dimension Loadpath, Kevlar, Twaron, or Carbon... depending on your ability to pay really. Each has its advantages... Expect to pay $1500-$2500 for each sail depending on the sail.. lighter material spinnakers (generally nylon) will be around $1000

Some vendors with good reps:
Quantum
North
Doyle Boston
Elliot Pattison sails (my personal favorite, as Harry himself walked me through options and was super helpful to me when I called him. He also sold me 3 sails in 2 years, so I suspect he liked the repeat business).. I'm thinking of buying some sails from him in a few weeks too for my S2 7.9. He took easily an hour out of his day to explain my options and to figure out how I sail, and in what venue, and for sure I wasn't a big customer for him.

Some decent tier 2 vendors
FX
Mauri Pro
pineapple sails

Original:

New Loadpath D4s from epsails.com (they are a top vendor for Capri 25 Nationals qualifying boats).

May 16, 2012
Catalina Capri 22 IL
drewlamparello said: