Proud new owner of an '84 O'day 26 :-)

Aug 4, 2019
Oday 26 Patchogue
I've always loved being out on the water, and definitely think sailboats are the way to go. I finally found one that was in my price range, specs, etc. It's my first boat and I'm pretty excited. Unfortunately, she's on the hard and the marina's crane is broken, so I can't put her in the water for a week. In the meantime, I thought I would try to make some repairs while she's on the dock, prioritizing the most important things. My main concern are all these cracks up on the deck. The worst one is this spiraling crack (see attached picture). The crack isn't flat - the ridges of the crack push up a bit, making me wonder if there is water soaking the core underneath. I tapped the area and it didn't seem to give a soft thud, but I'm not an expert. Is the top deck cover made of gelcoat? What's the best way to repair a crack like this? Are there temporary repairs I can make to prevent any further water-logging (if there is any), in case it's not easy to make a permanent repair right now? Thanks, and I'm sure glad to meet you and all and to find a place like this!

Attachments

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
Welcome, and congratulations on your purchase! That is some kind of stress crack in the gelcoat. If the core didn't sound too dead underneath that's a good sign. I would probably be inclined to just sail with it this season and then figure out the repair in the winter, but I'm not an expert. You'll have a bit of work to do matching the non-skid texture and gelcoat color there. Andy at the Boatworks Today YouTube channel, as well as some of the other experiences I'm sure people will share here, will be very helpful to you.

Sep 23, 2009
O'Day 34-At Last Rock Hall, Md
Congratulations and welcome aboard. I agree with everything Dave said. not that urgent.