Problem getting to max rpms in neutral.

Status
Not open for further replies.

weinie

Sep 6, 2010
Jeanneau 349 port washington, ny
The specs for my universal m18 engine indicate the maximum rpms is 3200. While the transmission is in neutral and the throttle lever is fully pushed forward, the most I get is about 2600. Otherwise, engine seems to run fine. It idles ok at around 1300 (vibrates a bit though).
Fuel filters were also recently changed.

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida
Engine speed is controlled by a governor to help maintain constant RPM under varying loads. The governor does it by controlling the injection pump. With no load the governor will slow the engine down thus preventing it from attaining maximum revolutions in neutral.

Jun 14, 2011
Hunter 22 Fin Keel Lake Martin
how are you getting your rpm readings? a gauge or a direct shot with a hand held unit?

weinie

Sep 6, 2010
Jeanneau 349 port washington, ny
Benny,
I'm no mechanic, but I'm pretty sure the job of the govenor is to maintain the RPMs as the load changes. Shouldn't I be able to hit max rpms without any load?

GeorgiaBll,
I'm using my panel's tach.

Tom J

Sep 30, 2008
Catalina 310 Quincy, MA
Benny,
I'm no mechanic, but I'm pretty sure the job of the govenor is to maintain the RPMs as the load changes. Shouldn't I be able to hit max rpms without any load?

GeorgiaBll,
I'm using my panel's tach.
You may be able to rev an engine to max rpm in neutral, but do you really want to? Revving any engine that high without a load can be very detrimental to that engine's health. Put her in the water and see what she does under full throttle.

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida