O day 222 anniversary rigging tension guide

Jul 5, 2019
O’ Day 222 Little Egg Harbor NJ
Ahoy all,
I am new to the sailing world and would like to know if anyone has a rigging tension guid Or a resource where I can get one

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida
have not heard of a guide "per se". Identify your wires by size and number of strands and look up the breaking strength for it. Tighten them to 20 to 25% percent of the breaking strength using a Loos Gauge. Determine whether your boat has a "mast rig" or "fractional Rig", Keep the mast straight by gradually, and alternating tightening and the shrouds on both sides. On a fractional rig you must determine the amount of bend for the mast. Check the Forum Archives as there should be some postings on how to tune the rig.

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
Might I recommend, for your boat, an easy tuning technique that does not require a guide or a guage.
The 222 is a fractional rig with a simple upper and lower set of shrouds and a backstay. I find this setup to be very straight forward and visual tuning should be as accurate, even more so, than guage tuning.
Set your boat level or in the water to be sure of level. Keep in mind that waterline trim on a small boat like yours will be significantly affected as a person moves around, while on the water. There are visual ways to overcome the problems if you can't get the boat level.
First, determine your rake. This is somewhat a matter of preference, helm balance and sail cut. The boom should be approximately horizontal. I like a decent amount of rake and for a 22' fractional sloop, five inches of rake at the gooseneck seems good. Adjust for performance later.
Measure the rake by hanging a weight on your main halyard and let the mast back on its forestay until the halyard hangs 5" aft of the sail track at the gooseneck.
Your rig should be loose and little tension at all should be on your stays. Just enough to keep the mast up and approximately centered left to right.