Novice sailor/boat owner....lots of questions....

RyanH

Apr 18, 2020
Catalina 27 Marina Del Rey
I am very very new to sailing, just got a catalina 27. I am in the process of cleaning it up, fixing it up, no where close to taking it out on the water....here is my question (and I apologize for my ignorance), when talking about the bilge, what exactly are we talking about? Is it just the small space under the long wood cover on my cabin floor? Or does it mean that part, but also the entire underneath of the boat (or what I understand to be the hull)? Hopefully that question makes sense.

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
The bilge is the lowest inner part, or bottom point, on a boat, and is designed to collect excess water. ... the bilge pump system is designed to remove relatively small amounts of water and usually are not large enough to keep up with a major intrusion of water from hull damage. Hopefully you have an automatic bilge pump.

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
On a Catalina 27, the bilge is the cavity under the floor board. Lowest point in the boat. Any water that enters the boat will end up here... so that is where you place the electric submersible bilge pump (if you have one) and you should also see the hose that will lead up to the manual pump that can be operated from the cockpit.
When checking the bilge.... which you should do regularly.... take a close look at the "keel bolts"... older boats will undoubtedly be corroded.. if you can clean them up and then coat them with tef gel or similar then do it. You can also check the base of the mast's compression post. The old C 27 had a piece of marine plywood that covered the floor of the bilge that the base sat on... It is possible this layer can get water damaged and a common retrofit is to remove and replace and treat with resin before covering with an epoxy overcoat.... It's a real job, btw.. that's why many owner's don't do it.