Night in the open water.

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dan

Well, as you will understand I'm very new to sailling and that is why my question may sound stupid, but anyway, I'm just thinking to get away from the shore for the first time. How do you spend a night in the open waters when it's too deep? Do you have somebody always watching? Do you drop a floating anchor to reduse the drift and just go to sleep? What do you do? Thanks, Dan.

G

Gary Jensen

nite in the deep

Different sailors have different ways of handeling the night. When alone some people sleep during the day, relying on the idea thet most all others are watching while they sail during daylight. Some set a timer to wake them up during the night to observe for other craft.(that time varies from seaman to seaman, with the shortest time of 20 minutes). I pesonally would not rely on only my sight, but I would have radar. Lastly, I would have another crewmember that I could trade watches with..3 on 3 off etc

D

Dick Vance

Night Vision