Need a rudder

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Crew 3

I am the advisor for a Scout Venture Crew (young men and women, ages 14-21) in Jacksonville. They were given a Mac25 by a generous donor. They are all neophyte sailors and are just beginning to learn. Unfortunately, due to a failure to properly secure it, the rudder was lost. Is it possible to build a rudder? Does anyone have plans or specs? The kids are really begining to enjoy their new adventure, but need to get back on the water as soon as possible. There are also several other repairs and modifications that need to be made, I'm sure, but one step at a time. Pam DeMent-Liebenow crew3@attbi.com

J

Jamie

Jacksonville Native

I used to live down in Jacksonville! I am a college student at Lehigh University, 20 years old. I have a 26S that I could probably take some measurements from and pass them along to you. I wouldn't think it would be too difficult to make your own rudder the only tricky part would be that the rudder would probably want to float if it was made of wood. You may be able to get a local surf shop to make one out of fiberglass and they may not even charge you if they know it's for kids. Man, I wish I had known about you guys when I was down there. I took a week sailing class on sunfish down in the st. johns. Where are you guys located? If I am in the area I'll stop by. I used to live in Ponte Vedra.

C

Crew 3

Rudder help

Thanks. Any help we can get is appreciated. Our Crew home base is on Wesconnett on the West Side, but the boat is kept at Camp Echockotee on Dr's Lake in Orange Park. Come visit when you get down. Check us out at www.home.attbi.com/~crew3

C

Chris Slade

Stitch & Glue Rudder Blade By Thomas M. Stockwell