Main sail slugs

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bruce Trotter

I am thinking of converting my main sail from a bolt rope (way of attaching to the mast) by having a sail maker fit it with slugs. Now I have to be on deck to feed the main sail into the mast. If it were fitted with slugs I could run my main sheets from the cockpit. I sail alone quit a bit and in much wind I have a problm keeping the boat straight into the wind with the bolt rope sail that I have now due to the time it takes to get the sail up. When my boat turns enough for the main to catch some wind ,it is almost impossible to raise until I go back to the cockpit to turn my boat back into the wind. Has anyone ever done this conversion and what are the pros and cons? I am new at sailing and bought my Mac 25 last summer. I would appreciate any comments.

D

Doug Rodrigues

I just did it.....