Mackinac Island (and Hessel)

Feb 19, 2008
Catalina Capri 18 ann arbor
Hi all -

Couple things first - I’ve been sailing small boats on the great lakes for about 20 years now (Mostly bays). I’m pretty conservative about when I launch. My usual plan includes being in a location about a week, and hoping for three ‘small boat friendly‘ days - sometimes the fates spoil me, and once I towed a boat 5 hours and didn‘t launch it all week. Such are the risks of having a hobby that is entirely dependent on the weather. So on the one hand, “better safe than dead,” but on the other hand, “a ship at harbor is safe, but that’s not why we build ships.”

and yes, I know how quickly a good forecast can go bad.

having said all that.

We are planning a cruise for next summer, my original concept was to launch from st ignace and sail to Hessel, cruise around st Martin bay for a couple days and return to st ignace.

version 2 is spending a week in the marina at Hessel and day sailing from there. lots of great destinations between Les Channeaux and St. Martin Bay, and the lack of facilities on my 18’ boat makes returning to the marina every night pretty appealing.

question is, should I consider Mac Island a potential stop? Or, if we really want fudge should we drive to st ignace and let Star Line do the sailing? Of course, having grown up in Port Huron, “sailing to Mackinaw” is a dream that goes pretty deep.

small challenge is that it’s a super busy harbor. I would likely make reservations 6 months early, and if the weather is bad that day I’m out $30 . . .no big deal.

bigger challenge is the wind and waves, on an average day the straits are challenging for a small boat. The original plan had us coming within a few feet of the island, but on the northwest corner, the most protected side of the island. The harbor is kinda sticking right out in the straits. If I approach from Hessel I’d only be catching the full glory of the straits for a short time.

thoughts?

May 25, 2012