MacGregor 26 Atlantic Crossings?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 30, 2007
- - -
Hi, I am new to sailing but looking for a boat to learn on and eventually to port out of Horta in the Azores for a few years. I want something to sail between the islands but not sure if the MacGregor is the right boat to sail there. Assuming my sailing skills are up to it, is the MacGregor 26 a good choice to make an Atlantic crossing? Would appreciate any imput from MacGregor owners on how the boat performs in deep water. Thanks.

May 4, 2005
Macgregor 26d Ft Lauderdale, Fl
no, but

what model year are you looking at? this would be my starting place: http://www.amazon.com/Twenty-Small-Sailboats-Take-Anywhere/dp/0939837323 you could go around the world in a mac... but you will need to rebuild and outfit the boat, extensivly. search archives for mad mike or zeno's arrow. this guy took an X all over hell and back... really. but he rebuilt the boat 1st... literally. here: http://archives.sailboatowners.com/pviewarch.htm?fno=82&sku=2005331223508.10&id=367471&ptl=#2005331230302.78 and http://archives.sailboatowners.com/index.htm?fno=82 -add "madmike" to search looks like the full thread on macgregor-sailors.com is down...

Jan 30, 2007
- - -
Thanks for the links.

Thanks for the information. Would probably be looking at a late model Mac 2004 to new. Would probably use it around the San Francisco Bay Area for a few years before starting the journey.

Oct 26, 2004
Macgregor 26X Denton Co. TX USA
Yes and no