Loss of power, C30 with a Universal M25 engine

Oct 22, 2019
Catalina 30 MKII Brewster, MA
Hi all,
I'm a newbie here and thanks for any help you may be. I'm a new sailor and now own a C30. I recently moved the boat to it's winter marina and had a long trip around cape cod to get to cape cod bay. The last leg of the trip was through the cape cod canal at flood as I was going into the bay. The engine had run well for about 9 hours. We had a 7 knot tide and with the engine at 2,000 knots we were making about 11 knots through the canal. The boat felt like it was surfing and difficult to steer. I decided to back off the throttle a bit and also glanced at the transom and noticed the exhaust port was underwater, I couldn't see the normal flow of exhaust seawater. The bow did feel like we were up on a plane. As I did this the engine lost power. Needless to say, I needed to throw the anchor as the canal is not very wide and I had lost steerage. We were towed to a marina and the engine ran fine when we got there and has run fine since. My question, has anyone else experienced this? Could the exhaust port being underwater cause a loss of power? Thanks in advance for any opinions.

Feb 26, 2004
Catalina 34 224 Maple Bay, BC, Canada
Things to check:

Vented loop between muffler and exhaust riser nipple

Screen on intake of fuel hose inside tank - remove it.

Air leaks in hoses - intake hoses won't leak fuel, but air in the lines will stop the engine; when was the last time you checked you fuel hose clamps?

You might be interested in this:

Engines 101 - The BIGGEST & BEST collection of M25 Series Universal Engine Information on the Internet, plus some M35, too :)

Diesel Engine - c34.org

Jan 19, 2010
Catalina 34 Casco Bay
Sounds like back pressure caused by the submerged exhaust. Same thing happens when the water muffler exhaust becomes occluded from rust inside out.

Oct 22, 2019
Things to check:

Vented loop between muffler and exhaust riser nipple