Looking at a Tartan 33

Lazy1

Aug 23, 2019
Catalina 22 13425 A driveway in Pittsburgh
Hey,
I have been sailing a 1986 Catalina 22 for 5 years on Lake Erie and looking to size up on the cheap. I am looking at this Tartan and expect to get a surveyor to minimally knock the hull and deck knowing it is a mostly balsa cored. I am trying to set up a first viewing
My concerns in order of importance are
  1. Why would the hull have what looks like rust stains running down the hull?
  2. Dark stain on rudder scares me.
  3. It's being sold by a marine services company from what I can tell, maybe they put a lean on it or it was abandoned by previous owner
  4. What would it take to set this up for single hand? It looks like there is nothing rigged for short/single hand (no deck organizers, clutches, or winches on the cabin top.
  5. No dodger or bimini mentioned so they don't exist
I have seen the practical sailor article about things to check on these boats.

Thanks for your thoughts or suggestions

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
Most of the stains on the hull seem to start a few inches below the waterline. I’d guess they’re just some kind of organic growth from the boat sitting on the hard.

The one stain that would concern me more is the darker rust covered spot toward the front of the rudder.
1719745955275.png

If that one is really rust it could be water compromising the structure of the rudder and weeping out. It’ll take a closer inspection and survey to see what’s going on there.

I also noticed there are no pictures of the engine, leaving its condition pretty questionable.

Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish