Keel Bolt fell out

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Stan Taylor

The bolt that steadies the keel when its up fell out along with the nut that appeared to be glassed in on my '76 Catalina. It's above the water line, so the only time water comes in is when I'm on a starboard tack. I don't care about reinstalling a bolt, I just want to fill in the hole in the verticle wall that's abut the size of a dime. I have no experience with epoxy or resin or any of that kind of repair work. So can anyone give me an idea or 2 on the best way to repair my poor little boat with a hole in it? Thanks to all in advance. This is a great board! Stan

M

Mike

Glass is easy to work with

I made the same repair to my '75 C22. I find it hard to believe that the "nut" fell out, since it is welded onto a stainless steel band about 12 inches long, and glassed into the trunk. I would make absolutely certain that the trunk isn't damaged more than you think before starting to patch the small hole. Next, get yourself a fiberglass repair kit at any auto repair store ( half the price of West Marine). Read and folow the directions. The most important step is sanding the area very well all around where you're going to make your repair. Clean it with acetone. Cut pieces of the fiberglass cloth in ever increasing dimensions so that you'll over lap each patch. You can apply 2-3 patches at a time. Then let it harden, and sand and clean with aceone before continuing. When you are finished, sand one last time to remove any sharp points of hardened cloth, and touch up with a little rust-oleum for asthetics, if you feel like doing the extra work, but not necessary. Good luck.

U

Uwe

the bolt