Just saying Hello

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 8, 2010
Ericson 29 Grand Lake, OK
Just thought I'd post to say hello to all the Irwin owners. Wanted one for a number of years and finally had a chance to buy one. And she was definitely worth the wait. Thanks.

Jul 29, 2009
Irwin 37 c.c. Cutter indian rocks beach, fl.
Howdy Capt. Welcome to the club. There is a lot of info on this site, forums, archives search, more experienced sailors, not me, but I am a very experienced mechanic and I have done all the refurb on my 37. Way too much,LOL. Anyways, if any questions don't hesitate to ask. I bought mine about 3.5 years ago and sometimes do repairs on the fly, since I would rather sail than sit at a dock. Still have a long way to go, but I know my boat from stem to stern and wouldn't have it any other way. Happy sailing.

Nov 8, 2010
Ericson 29 Grand Lake, OK
Thanks

Thanks Jim.
Been sailing for about 20 or so years now and FINALLY gotta chance to buy an Irwin dirt cheap and jumped on it. Saw my first one alot of years ago when I was living in FL. Go figure with all the places on the coasts that I've lived I'd hafta move to OK to find one. I am truly loving the design of these boats, they have tons of room and features that you seldom see other than on "yachts". And talk about overbuilt? They handle beautifully and I have decided that they have to be one of the most under-appreciated sailers out there. I'm a fan for life.

galynd

Nov 1, 2009
Beneteau 36cc port arthur, tx
Thanks Jim.
They handle beautifully and I have decided that they have to be one of the most under-appreciated sailers out there.

I couldn't agree more. I do believe that there were some design flaws. The thru-deck stantions tend to leak after years. I've replaced or redone all of mine. The port lights are plastic as is the locking lens. I've replace many. However, these are items that can deal be dealt with.

They do sail like a champ, beamy and comfortable.