Idle and throttle control help

May 30, 2024
Catalina 30 Buffalo
I am new to the sailboat world and just bought a 1980 Catalina 30 with a 5411 Universal. The guy I bought it from said the throttle was a little tricky. He was right. I have two problems.

1) In neutral, I am able to rev the engine from idle to high RPM with no hesitation or issue. When I shift into forward, I have to quickly throttle up or it will die. In reverse, I need to quickly go to full throttle just to keep it running. Then even at full throttle in forward or reverse, I am only able to hold half the full rpm’s I am able to achieve in neutral. No tach so I don’t have real rpm data. At full throttle in calm water, I can only hit about 4 knots. As you can imagine, the dying while shifting in and out of gear is annoying and stressful trying to dock in a marina. I will change all the fuel filters and check for cracked fuel lines but since it runs smooth and never stumbles, I am thinking fuel is ok. If I had to guess, I think the governor is not functioning since the rpm’s don’t recover on their own after shifting and I have to manually adjust the throttle to keep it alive. Does that make sense? How can I test this thought and what should I look for?

2) This boat has an Edson pedestal and no engine stop lever. To shut down the engine, I push the throttle closed and it shuts down. Since I am constantly fiddling with the throttle while trying to keep it alive and having to restart it when it quits, I have found it annoying to find the idle position. There is no detent? No idle position at all? Is it just missing? Or broken? I don’t feel any difference in the throttle action all the way from stop to full throttle. Every time I start it, I just crank and increase throttle manually until it is roughly idle “position” and it starts. Is that normal?

May 1, 2011
Pearson 37 Lusby MD
Another thought . . . What does your exhaust look like in gear and out of gear? You may have a mixing elbow problem.