Hunter 29.5 Mainsheet System

Status
Not open for further replies.

tlowum

Aug 24, 2011
Hunter 29.5 Ithaca, NY
Hello. I'm new to the Hunter world - I recently purchased a 1994 Hunter 29.5. Overall, I love the boat, but I find that the mainsheet system doesn't have enough mechanical advantage as the wind picks up. With the double-ended mainsheet, we can use the starboard cabin top winch to pull the main in, but I would prefer a more powerful setup back at the helm. Does anyone have a recommendation for how to upgrade to something with more purchase? I'm looking forward to a few weeks of sailing on our new boat before winter sets in here in central NY!

Sailm8

Feb 21, 2008
Hunter 29.5 Punta Gorda
Can you explain a little better? Do you mean your traveler? I guess I don't understand a doubled ended mainsheet.

Jun 30, 2004
Hunter 340 St Andrews Bay
I think I know what you are talking about-do you have the short (18") traveler at the helm? The one we had had good purchase but I don't remember the set-up. I will give you a little trick. If you are close hauled and need to tight-up- steer closer to the wind to the point of luffing, tighten the sheet, and then fall back off.

tlowum

Aug 24, 2011
Hunter 29.5 Ithaca, NY
Can you explain a little better? Do you mean your traveler? I guess I don't understand a doubled ended mainsheet.