Hunter 260 Ballast Modifications

Feb 20, 2016
Catalina 22 Palm Harbor
There is a 2003 Hunter 260 w/ Trailer ( I am not a Trailer Sailor) available in our area for sale (Northwest Coast of Florida ) that has a
Water Ballast modified, filled with 1900 lbs. of concrete versus the 2,000 lbs. of water that the boat was designed to hold.

I am new to Water Ballast only because we live in a low tide shallow water passage to the Gulf, making anything more than 30" Draft an issue . So I need to consider the 260 or Catalina 250. Catalina 250's are very difficult to find, regardless of the year.

End of the day....................should I be concerned about this "Concrete Sled" rendition of a Hunter 260 WB for sale in our area?

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
Water weighs 62.4 lb/cf vs. concrete weighs 140 lb/cf. Therefore, the ballast has a large void. Seems like that might impact its center of gravity and stability. Personally, I would purchase a boat specifically designed ballast for concrete OR water. Suggest reading this thread about a 260 ballast filled with concrete before you purchase.

Last edited:
Jun 8, 2004
-na -NA Anywhere USA
I remember hearing about that boat. WALK AWAY FROM IT.
The trailer will be over the limit of gross weight with tires blowing. The bunk boards will badly indent the hull possibly to the point sever hull damage. Boat was designed to tow without water ballast but in this case a bigger vehicle. Loading will be difficult.
I could go on but the hull was not designed for concrete

Doug J

May 2, 2005
Hunter 26 Oceanside, CA
They ruined a perfectly fine water ballast sailboat. I wouldn't touch it with a ten foot boat hook.o_O

Last edited:

walt

Jun 1, 2007
Macgregor 26S Hobie TI Ridgway Colorado