Hunter 170: Hull cracks repair, rudder mount rebuild, motor mount build, trolling motor electrical solution, inspection holes, hull painting

May 31, 2022
Hunter 170 San Antonio
Hi fellow sailors,
This forum is absolutely amazing. And special thanks to @stickinthemud57 for great introduction and long and detailed emails. Hopefully, we can continue that here as I make progress.

Here's my story and I open this post with ask for support and advise from experienced people, so I get this project through and get on the water again. So also, I apologize in advance for lacking some proper terms, as I'm still learning the vocabulary.

I am new to sailing as I only owned Laser 2 for a few months and went out with it only several times at Canyon Lake, Texas and had absolute blast. I fell in love with the feeling being powered by wind.
I was fortunate that I was gifted a project Hunter 170 boat from a very generous person, that started the work on this boat, but it is kinda in the middle when I got it. After I got the boat, I sold my Laser 2 and from the money, I ordered new sails for this Hunter 170 from Precision Sails and I already receive them.

1. He built enclosed section in the front that replaces the tarp section on the original design. The plywood is covered with three layers of fibergrass and the front has been varnished. I'm planing to sand the edges, do some fairing and paint white, then place non skid on top.

1659468693341.png 1659468774414.png

2. Cracks. Lots of them. The previous owner already filled in lots of cracks using Plexus and sanded some of them, so most is ready for putting primer on and paint with Krylon Paint White and Clear Gloss on top of it. I see only two small cracks that I need to fill in, so I'm going to use Dremel tool to create a V shape groove and fill it with Plexus, and then sand it flush.

1659474106147.png 1659474171589.png.1659474397104.png. 1659474504416.png. 1659474612063.png