How to test mast circuits for lights

Jul 17, 2013
Hi all,

If you've noticed that I post more questions than I answer, well, that's because I am still pretty new to this. Thanks in advance for help. And I look forward to the day when the tables reverse!

Boat goes in the water soon and my mast is still down. I'd like to replace some bulbs, e.g. anchor light, steaming light, etc. My question is, how I can check the electrical circuit to ensure all is good before I put the mast back up? I know some of you guys have A-frame set-ups to lower and raise at will. I am not that far yet. Once I put the mast up for the season, it's a hassle to take down. So it'd be nice to be able to test this stuff while the mast is down.

I imagine it's possible to juice the circuit by connecting the boat battery to the deck connector on the mast end using alligator clips or something? Could I use a smaller battery seeing as its rather awkward to lug the boat battery around?

In short, ideally, I'm looking for a simple solution to lighting up, e.g., the anchor light while the mast is resting on its sawhorses in the boatyard, so I can make sure it's all good. Thanks again.

Cheers,
Charlie

Jul 3, 2013
Charlie H said:
....I imagine it's possible to juice the circuit by connecting the boat battery to the deck connector on the mast end using alligator clips or something? Could I use a smaller battery seeing as its rather awkward to lug the boat battery around?
I think this is probably your best bet to make sure every bulb is working. But you are right: lugging the boat battery around is no fun.

The boat's electrical system is 12 volts, so you will need 12 volts to use in your testing.