Hard tacking

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jerry

I have a 1993 26' Classic with wheel steering and a 150% genoa. I'm not very experienced. Recently we were on a port tack with 20+ knot winds, 2' to 3' waves. All sails were out and the centerboard was down. I cranked the wheel to port to tack and the boat slowly went to port but wouldn't even go into irons and eventually started going slowly to starboard. When I cranked the wheel starboard the boat eventually started going to port. This has happened one other time in much light winds. Another boat on the lake had the same problem that day. The sailer is more experienced but this was a new boat to him and it wasn't a MacGregor. By the way, the winds were coming from a direction that was unusual for this lake. Rather than get into trouble, I finally turned on the engine and powered out of the problem. So, what took place? What am I doing wrong? How can I overcome this problem? I've heard that MacGregors do sail a little differently when it comes to the weather helm. Thanks for your help.

S

Scott

good question

Good question!!! 20+ knots of wind? Did you have shortened sails? You weren't running the full 150% were you? A full 150 and that high of wind and a boat that small may have been giving you severe lee helm that you didn't feel because of the wheel and not a tiller?? If it happens again furl you genny to about 90% and see what happens, or bear off a bit then head up quick and tack with some speed. What type of ballast do you have? If water, were the tanks full...maybe you were just losing leeway(sliding sideways and not turning) It is very difficult to answer this question without having felt it.

C

Chris Baker

in irons