h170 and Novice Sailor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 17, 2004
- - Nashville, TN
Hello, all. I am a complete novice at sailing (as in I have never sailed but want to learn), and I'm looking at an h170. I have a 4-yr.old, so I want a very stable boat, but also one that I can grow with as a sailor. I'll be sailing Percy Priest and Old Hickory Lakes in Nashville and maybe Lake Barkley/KY Lake in Land Between the Lakes in KY. Also, I may be sailing solo quite a bit, as my wife is not interested in sailing. Is the h170 the boat for me? Thanks. Michael Willey

Apr 1, 2004
Hunter 170 Yorktown, VA
More Info

define "very stable boat". If you are looking for something that you can sit on the seat, hold an adult beverage and relax - my vote would be no on the H170. If it can be something that you are willing to be mobile ballast, the H170 is a fun little boat. In 10+ knots I think solo would be a hand full, and too much motion for a little one. I think if you did get the H170, get it with out the Spinnaker kit. When you grow into it you can add it on later. If you can, find a local rental or someone on this list for a test ride. I would recommend the boat, but it sounds like you are looking for a large boat with a small water line. Just my opinion, hopefully others will chime in.

Jun 17, 2004
- - Nashville, TN
More Info

John, Thanks for your response. I guess by "very stable," I mean a boat that I won't be capsizing every five minutes. For example, among the boats I've been looking at was a Buccaneer 18, and I made a similar post to the Bucc 18 forum and one Bucc owner replied privately that he, like me, had wanted a boat to take his kids out on the lakes. He bought a Bucc and has found that it is very easy to capsize and now owns a boat that he can't let his kids into until he learns to handle the Bucc. I just don't want that to happen to me. Thanks again. Michael

Mike D

May 10, 2004
Hunter 376 Annapolis, MD
Rental First