Genoa size

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Lloyd

On another forum much opinion about how to calculate and/or approximate and measure size of Genoa sail. As I am a newbie I treat that style of discussion as if it were a multiple choose question on the sailor test. Usually within a dozen posts or sooner The expert will give the short answer then explain it and then quote the rule and where it can be found. Since I don't speak sailor yet (and there's another topic) I often don't get the answer right when I guess. this is one they haven't quite finished yet so I decided to ask You. Here is my guess and extra question. The Genoa size is determined by dividing the 'J' distance by the 'LP' distance and expressing it as a percentage. Where 'J' is the perpendicular distance from the mast to the headstay at the deck and 'LP' is the perpendicular distance from the luff of the Genoa to the clew. sail size as a proportion using a right triangle should be useful to determine need. What's the difference between a Genoa and a Jib or are they the same? Is a headstay and a forstay the same? if the sailboat has a bowsprit is the 'J ' measured from the tip of the bowsprit?

Dec 5, 2004
- - San Leon, TX
no trig involved...

'J' is measured from the base of the mast to the point of attachment of the jib...wherever that actual point may be. No right triangles involved in figuring genoa size. Take a right angle square(carpenters works well), place one leg parallele against the luff near the bottom(tack), slide it up until the inward pointing side of the square points directly at the clew. Mark the spot on the luff. The distance from that mark to the clew is the Luff-Perpendicular(LP). Divide LP by J multiply that by 100 and you have genoa size as a percentage. LP/J * 100 = genoa% ex: LP =15' J=10' then genoa is a 150% easy huh! ;)

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 22 Victoria BC
Making sure I have my grade 6 math right...