Genoa / Jib are both sitting on the lifelines/bow rail when deployed.

May 16, 2024
o'Day 23 Muskegon, MI
I am new to sailing and have only been sailing my (new to me) o'Day 23 for about a month (which with a full time job equates to about 4 times actually on the boat). I am still in the process of figuring out the running rigging for various parts of the boat.

This past weekend, I used the genoa and jib (both hanked on) that came with the boat for the first time (previous times in the boat under sail I used the storm jib so I could get used to sailing). Both sails seem to hang up on the lifelines/bow rail when deployed. It almost seems like there there should be a length of line or cable to attach between the tack and where it attaches to the bow mount. The Genoa was about 2 feet below the top of the forestay, but the jib was even further away from the top. I know the jib is loose in the pic, but this was taken on a crazy windy day (and I probably should not have been out to begin with). Any thoughts or is this expected behavior? I have seen pics of other o'Day 23's and the sail sits higher off the deck in some cases (with one appearing to have a line/cable between the tack and bow plate), but for the most part I cannot tell how it is rigged.

Also, if anyone sees anything else in the pics that I should know about or make changes to, please do not hesitate to point it out.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Attachments

May 17, 2004
Beneteau Oceanis 37 Havre de Grace
That’s not unusual at all. Some boats will have a pendant from the tack of the sail but that raises the center of effort and increases the amount the sail wants to heel the boat. When you’re on a reach or run the amount it’s hung up won’t make much difference to performance. When you’re close hauled you may need to “skirt” the sail manually to get it inside the lifelines.