Evaluating a South Coast 26

Jan 24, 2023
N/A N/A N/A
Hi everyone. My husband and I have some sailing experience but have not owned or maintained any boats. We’d like to start with a trailer sailer that we would keep at a lake in Indiana, at least to begin with. Mostly day sails or weekend overnights. Looking for comfort and ease of use over speed.

This boat came up locally and seems like a decent deal that fits our use case, but not sure how to evaluate any serious condition issues. It’s a 1978 Seacraft South Coast 26. Wondering if any red flags come up for folks here based on the photos/description, and if you have any advice for how to cover our bases as much as possible. For example, is it a thing to hire someone to come inspect for us? Anyone have any connections in Indianapolis that could point us in such a direction? We understand there will always be maintenance funds needed, but we’d like to at least have a sense of what any immediate major repairs would be before purchasing.

It seems like which sails are included and their condition would be one thing to follow up on.

First time posting. I hope I’m following correct protocols in how I’m posting this - please let me know if not!

Thank you!

Last edited:
Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish
Welcome! You're doing find protocol wise. Pictures are a big help. Someone to inspect the boat would be called a surveyor. There is a National association for surveyors which also credentials them. If you go that route make sure the surveyor knows sailboats. Most but not all on this forum would recommend a survey. Your insurance company will require an insurance survey, which is a less extensive and cheaper version.
I would not recommend buying a 1978 boat that needs major repairs - upgrades, yes but no serious repairs. You'll be throwing your money away.